Nominations Open for 2016 Pulse Promoter Award

September 23, 2016

Saskatchewan Pulse Growers (SPG) is seeking recipient nominations for the 2016 Pulse Promoter Award.

“The Pulse Promoter Award is our way of recognizing exceptional individuals who have impacted the Saskatchewan pulse industry in recent years,” explains Tim Wiens, Chair of SPG’s Board of Directors. “Typically these individuals have contributed in the areas of production, research, extension, and more.”

The award, given out since 1994, has recognized many industry leaders including Saskatchewan Ag Hall of Fame member Dr. Robin Morrall, pulse farmer Lyle Minogue, and plant breeder Dr. Tom Warkentin. Last year’s recipient was Dr. Robert Tyler from the University of Saskatchewan, who was honoured for his contribution in the area of research and development, focusing on pulse ingredient utilization.

BASF Canada has been a long-time partner of the Pulse Promoter Award, contributing $1,000 to this year’s recipient. “We are happy to support the recognition of industry leaders through sponsorship of the Pulse Promoter Award,” said Jason Leitch, Crop Manager - Pulses, BASF. “BASF is committed to developing new innovations for the pulse market."

“We appreciate the support this award receives from BASF Canada,” says Wiens. “We believe it is important that we continue to recognize those in the industry that contribute to the success of the Saskatchewan pulse industry, and we encourage everyone to consider nominating someone today.”


To nominate an individual for the Pulse Promoter Award, please complete the nomination form. Nominations will be accepted until Friday, November 11.


Saskatchewan Pulse Growers Strategic Plan

May 2015

Saskatchewan Pulse Growers has a new strategic plan.

View Strategic Plan