Election for Board of Directors

December 03, 2015

Saskatchewan Pulse Growers Announces Board of Directors Election Results

Saskatchewan Pulse Growers (SPG) is pleased to announce that Gerrid Gust of Davidson and Trent Richards of Assiniboia have been elected to the SPG Board of Directors.

Gerrid Gust manages and operates a fourth generational farm in Davidson, together with his family. They run a straight grain operation with pulses making up 30-50 per cent of their rotation, including peas and red lentils.

Trent Richards farms 4,000 acres in the Assiniboia area. He was one of the first in his area to include pulse crops in his rotation, with pulses currently accounting for 40 per cent of his rotation including red, green, and black lentils, as well as yellow peas and soybeans.

“We look forward to welcoming Gerrid and Trent to our board in January,” says SPG Board Chair Tim Wiens. “We look forward to the newly elected board members providing their perspective at the board table."

There were 1018 votes cast in this year’s election, almost all of which were registered using the online voting platform that SPG launched this year. “Growers have told us they wanted an easier voting option and the online platform delivered a fast, simple, and secure way to vote,” notes Carl Potts, SPG’s Executive Director. “Our goal is to see even more growers using the online platform in the future.”

The new Board members will assume responsibility following SPG’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) at 4:45 PM on Monday, January 11, at TCU Place during CropSphere 2016. Growers do not need to be registered for CropSphere to attend SPG’s AGM.

Accountable to and funded by growers, SPG’s strategic direction is guided by a seven member, grower-elected, Board of Directors. SPG’s mission is to provide leadership and create opportunities for profitable growth for the Saskatchewan pulse industry.

For more information, please visit our website at www.saskpulse.com or contact:

Rachel Kehrig                                                                       
Director of Communications & Market Promotion     
Saskatchewan Pulse Growers                                 
Cell: (306) 230-6488                                                  
Email: rkehrig@saskpulse.com                                  

Andrea Lauder
Communications Manager
Saskatchewan Pulse Growers
Cell: (306) 250-6858
Email: alauder@saskpulse.com


Saskatchewan Pulse Growers Strategic Plan

May 2015

Saskatchewan Pulse Growers has a new strategic plan.

View Strategic Plan