Pulse Growers Set For Director Election

Voting Opens October 24

The nominees include:

“We are pleased to be proceeding with an election as a result of the call for nominations,” says Gerrid Gust, Vice-Chair of SPG. “At SPG we have focused on encouraging candidates to run for a position on the board. We believe an election gives growers the opportunity to engage and have a say in the direction of the organization by selecting who will serve on the board on their behalf.”

Voter packages, including a six digit ID number required for the electronic voting process, will be distributed by mail to registered pulse growers* in late-October in a green envelope. Voting opens at http://www.saskpulsevotes.com at 8:00 AM on October 24, and will remain open until 4:30 PM on November 24. If growers prefer to vote with a paper ballot, the voter package will provide contact information to request a mail-in ballot.

Important Dates:

October 24, 2017Voting opens at 8:00 AM at http://www.saskpulsevotes.com
November 4, 2017 – Candidate interviews on CJWW 600 Let’s Talk Ag program
November 24, 2017 Voting closes at 4:30 PM  
January 8, 2018 – Saskatchewan Pulse Growers Annual General Meeting in Saskatoon
*A registered pulse grower is someone who has sold a pulse crop and paid levy to SPG in the last two years.

Candidate Information

 Lynnda Berg
 Spiritwood, SK

Lynnda has been involved in agriculture all her life having grown up on a seed farm and now actively farming with her husband Neil on a mixed farm. The farm is located west of Spiritwood and produced canola, peas, wheat, and hay this crop season. Oats and barley are crops that have been grown in other years. The farm seeds approximately 1,000 acres of which green peas are 20% of the total.

Lynnda is a semi-retired registered nurse with over 20 years of experience at the senior management level. As a result of this experience, she is very familiar with governance and board function.

Lynnda also serves as the chairman of the board of Valley Hill Youth Treatment Center in Prince Albert. The center is a 15 bed youth substance abuse treatment program which is governed by a 7 member board appointed by the Minister of Health.

Other interests include golfing and gardening. She is very active in the Partners in Faith Church in Spiritwood by providing music and serving as Chair of the Church Council.

Lynnda believes that there are vast opportunities for marketing of pulse crops, both domestically and worldwide. The promotion of lentils and other pulses as a healthy dietary staple in Canada can expand these opportunities.

There is also the ability to explore breeding of new varieties that have higher yields and are resistant to diseases. Farmers are also interested to learn about fertilizer application and crop rotation practices to maximize yields and crop quality.


 Jean Harrington
 Glenside, SK
Visit me on Twitter @pfbJean

My husband John and I crop 7,400 acres as part of a family farm operation in the Glenside area. Specialty crops generally make up one-third of our rotation. Canola and wheat round out the balance.

I have served on various local boards such as Outlook Minor Sports, Glenside Rec. Board, and the local Sask Wheat Pool Committee. In 1985, I was proud to be on the founding board of the Saskatchewan Women’s Agricultural Network. Marketing crops on our farm turned into a business for me in 2003 when I founded Prairie Farm Brokerage which I ran as a full service brokerage until July 2012. Since then, I have been a market consultant for a much smaller group of clients. My career as a broker and marketing consultant has allowed me to have a unique insight into the pulse industry, having seen it from the producer’s, processor’s and exporter’s perspectives. 

During my time as a broker, it became apparent to me that what my clients wanted most from the Sask Pulse Growers was accountability and transparency for the pulse levy that they fund. These concerns, along with better communications between the SPG board and producers, are among the objectives I would like to work toward as a director of this organization.

Having already served a four year term on the SPG board, I think the objectives I have named have been started. I would welcome the opportunity to help continue the work towards these goals. 


 Corey Loessin
 Radisson, SK
Visit me on Twitter @loessin_corey

I operate a 3,000-acre grain farm in North-west Saskatchewan with my wife, Joan Heath, and our adult children.  We grow peas, lentils, and faba beans on 25% of our acreage rotating with canola, wheat, and barley.

After completing my Ag degree (B.S.A. ’86), I worked in Alberta as a District Agriculturist, as a crop science lecturer at the U of S, and have farmed fulltime since 1991. I am currently Chair of the SPG board, and a Director on the Pulse Canada board. I have been very active on Market Access issues, and have roles on two committees dealing with Maximum Residue Limits (MRL). I am the western pulse appointee to the WGRF board. Previously I served as the SPG research chair for three years, and SPG Vice-Chair for two years. 

My priority is to ensure grower levy dollars are wisely invested in research and market development work that increases returns for pulse growers.  Renewal of the pulse crop breeding agreement (which expires in 2020) is a major goal to keep improved varieties available royalty free to all pulse growers in the province. We need better weed control and disease management systems, and to explore new pulse crops.  I am convinced pulse crops have a future in healthy diets and sustainable foods, and I will continue to work to ensure pulse growers have access to markets around the world.

It’s a great time to be involved in primary agriculture. I will work hard to strongly represent all pulse growers’ interests.