September 7, 2023 (Saskatoon, SK) – Three nominees have been acclaimed to the Saskatchewan Pulse Growers (SPG) Board of Directors following the close of nominations in early September. BJ Haubrich of Hazenmore will join the Board of Directors in January. Terry Youzwa of Nipawin and Winston van Staveren of Creelman will each continue into their second three-year term on the Board. 

“We look forward to welcoming our new Director, BJ, to the Board where they will work collaboratively in guiding SPG’s strategic direction,” says Trent Richards, SPG Board Chair. “We are also pleased to have Terry and Winston return for another term. They each bring important experience and depth to the Board.” 

SPG had called for nominations for three positions on the Board of Directors and received three nominations. As such, the candidates will be acclaimed.  

Corey Loessin will be departing the Board in January as he has reached his maximum term limit. Corey served ten years on the SPG Board, after being appointed for a single year, and then serving three consecutive three-year terms. “I would like to thank Corey for his time and valuable contributions to the SPG Board of Directors over the past ten years, as well as his time spent as both SPG Chair and Pulse Canada Chair during his tenure,” says Richards.  

The new Directors’ terms will begin following SPG’s Annual General Meeting (AGM). The AGM will be held at 3:45 PM on Tuesday, January 9, 2024, at the Western Development Museum in Saskatoon, and virtually online. More information about the SPG AGM is available at

About SPG 
Accountable to and funded by growers, SPG’s strategic direction is guided by a nine-member, grower-elected Board of Directors. SPG’s mission is to provide leadership for profitable growth for Saskatchewan pulses. 

For more information, please contact: 

Amanda Carlson                    
Communications Manager 
Saskatchewan Pulse Growers                                                         
Phone: 306-668-0116 

Amber Johnson 
Director of Marketing and Communications 
Saskatchewan Pulse Growers 
Phone: 306-668-3668