Saskatchewan Pulse Growers (SPG) is pleased to announce the newest members to the Board of Directors, following the close of the election period on November 30. Two board members are new, and SPG retains an existing Director for another term.

New to the SPG Board are Winston Van Staveren of Creelman, SK and Terry Youzwa from Nipawin, SK. SPG welcomes back Corey Loessin from Radisson, SK who was re-elected. These newly elected members will join SPG’s Board in January 2021.
“On behalf of the Board I would like to congratulate Corey, Winston, and Terry. I look forward to the experience, expertise, and diverse perspectives they will bring to the board table from their growing regions,” says SPG Chair Brad Blackwell. “I would also like to thank all of the candidates for putting their names forward, it was encouraging to see the increased level of interest from growers this year with a strong list of candidates. Their passion and commitment to the growth of Saskatchewan’s pulse industry is greatly appreciated.”
There were 3,269 votes cast by 1,238 voters in this year’s election. Nearly all votes were received through the online voting platform. The final vote results were:

Bruce Elke – 406
Norm Hall – 476
Corey Loessin – 856
Ryan Neubauer – 170
Winston Van Staveren – 704
Terry Youzwa – 657
As per member feedback at the 2020 AGM, SPG has expanded board size to nine elected members, effective January 2021. The new Director terms for Corey, Winston, and Terry will begin following SPG’s 2021 Annual General Meeting (AGM) on January 12, 2021.
The afternoon of January 12, 2021 will feature a pulse market outlook from 3:00 – 4:00 PM by Chuck Penner and Marlene Boersch. The virtual AGM will begin at 4:00 PM. Registration is now open for the virtual AGMs. To register, visit
Accountable to and funded by growers, SPG’s strategic direction is guided by a nine member, grower-elected Board of Directors. SPG’s mission is to provide leadership for profitable growth for Saskatchewan pulses.

For more information please contact:             
Andrea Lauder                   
Communications Manager
Saskatchewan Pulse Growers                                                        
Cell: (306) 250-6858

Amber Johnson        
Director of Marketing and Communications
Saskatchewan Pulse Growers                                                        
Cell: (306) 222-8161